What are the penalties for a DUI in Mississippi?

On Behalf of | Sep 13, 2021 | DUI Defense

Understanding the consequences of a DUI conviction will show you why defending against these charges is so crucial.

Many people plead guilty without realizing the full effect a conviction will have on them. A first-time DUI offense could result in the following:

  • A license suspension of 120 days
  • A fine of between $250 to $1,000
  • Jailtime to a maximum of 48 hours or attendance at a victim impact panel
  • Attendance at a Mississippi Alcohol Education, Assessment and Treatment Program (MAESP)

You could face further charges if you had a child under 16 in the car when the police stopped you or if you injured or killed someone.

What if you need to drive to get to work? 

You may rely on your car to earn an income or transport your family. You can ask the judge to allow you to continue driving in exchange for putting an ignition interlock device on your car. These are not free, however, and cost around $3 per day to hire. The decision to allow this will be down to the judge and they are under no obligation to allow it.

What other consequences does a DUI have?

If you plead guilty to a DUI, you will get a criminal record causing some employers to reject your application. That can happen regardless of your line of work, not just when applying for driving jobs. You will also need to pay considerably more to get insured each year.

If you already have a DUI conviction, the consequences will be far worse. There are several ways to defend against a DUI. Having help to choose the best option will be crucial to preserving your license, your freedom and your bank balance.

FindLaw Network

Contact The Firm

Visa | Master Card | Credit Cards Accepted